BLISSfix – Fascinating Story

January 10, 2011 at 10:10 pm 2 comments

A friend just shared this video with me about an unassuming fabulous photographer, whose greatness was only discovered when a 26-yr-old hopeful-author bought a box of her negatives at an auction following her death.

I’m not sure what intrigues me more, that she was so gifted and yet so private or the fortunate turn of events that fell upon this young man who found her work.  Both have been themes I’ve been exploring lately.  The first theme, ‘creation for the sake of creation… not for reward or recognition, but for the pure joy of doing something one loves to do.’  The second, ‘how following one inspired path, in this case the young man was writing a book in his spare time about his neighborhood in Chicago, can take you in a completely unexpected and exciting direction.’   By purchasing the photos, he is potentially sitting on a goldmine and admits to being surprised by his new hobby turned profitable business.  I am reminded of some things my chiropractor, Dr. Matt Lyon said to me… one, “imagine that you embody and ocean of trust” and once upon describing the Hindu God Ganesh’s message, “get out of the way” as he represents success and removing of obstacles.  I’ve been reflecting on the perplexing chain of events that have colored my ‘adult’ life.  I’m very happy with the life I lead, but am somewhat troubled by my own accomplishments or lack there of.  What does a life well-lived add up to?  What more could I be doing?  What really makes me happy?  Shouldn’t I be showing up in the world to contribute in a significant way?  These are some of the questions that drift through my brain.  But in watching this video and reflecting on Dr. Lyon’s words, I am comforted by the thought that although I may feel listless and purposeless at the moment, perhaps something exciting and entirely new is awaiting me right around the corner.  Perhaps, those ‘left turns at Albequerque’ were perfectly aligned with a greater discovery still hidden from my awareness.  If I can summon the ocean of trust and get out of my own way then perhaps my wishes and desires will be met even better than I could have attempted to meet them myself with a strategic course of action.

So I’m curious, anyone have any success stories of trusting in the laws of the universe and getting out of the way and having surprising and exciting success?  I’d love to hear it.  Please comment below!

side note: I’ve noticed that my writing style tends to change with what I’ve been listening, reading or watching.  After weeks of doing nothing more than watching episodes of Parks & Rec, 30 Rock and True Blood, my entries struggle to string two sentences together.  And today after listening to an audiobook for 7 hours while doing things around the house, words spill out of me with little effort.  They even seem melodic.  Any guesses as to what book I’m reading? I doubt it’s that obvious, so I’ll give you a hint… it’s the first of a series of books that I noticed 100s of people in airports reading over the summer.

Entry filed under: BLISSfix Journal, Conscious Videos. Tags: .

BLISSfix – Movie Trailer: Visions of a Universal Humanity Human Potential Classic – Lead the Field by Earl Nightingale

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebekah  |  January 15, 2011 at 4:19 am

    I do! I wrote a book about trusting divine guidance and the magic that happened when I did. ;)

    Also, I don’t know book you’re reading but the one I saw a million times was, “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.”

    Reply
  • 2. blissfix  |  January 16, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    correct guess Rebekah! :) Well written, but not Blissfix material. Definitely graphic and intense more than it is uplifting. ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

