Before writing your “To Do List”, consider a “To Be List”

February 18, 2011 at 7:04 pm 3 comments

It never ceases to amaze me the variety of high quality self-help offerings available on the internet in increasing number.  It seems like I think of an idea, and one google search later I discover 5 other people have already had this idea and are capitalizing on it… or shall I say, offering their magnificence to the world.  I’m so touched by the people who have found a way to make a living by inspiring folks for free online and then producing a book from the results that I’m sure retails at $15 or less.  This is how we change the world, one blog at a time, while keeping our own necks swimmingly above water.

Yourtobelist.com is a great example of this.  During a recent coaching session, my client mentioned something her professor said to her.  He said something to the effect of, “My life became a lot easier once I got clear on my values and created a list of how I wanted to BE in the world.”  We both contemplated the potential power of a “To Be List”… after the call, I searched the web and found Lauren & James and their website, blog and book Your To Be List.  One of the things I like most about this website is the thought and effort put into creating motivational pieces with video, found in the About YTBL section of the website.  Just from watching the two videos I get an good idea of what they are suggesting and can move forward inspired and ready to make a significant shift in my life.

So far my To Be List has take two forms… a 12 Commandments type theme of non-negotiables and ideals I still haven’t achieved but know I will in time… and then a looser, cleaner form focused on feelings and needs… connecting with the present moment, recognizing what feelings and needs are alive and what desires I have from there… and then asking the question, “who do I need to BE right now to achieve my desired outcome?” similar to what is described on YTBL website.

I’m finding with my 12-Commandments-style list that there is a tricky balance between wanting to rise to the occasion and being discouraged, because I have so far to go until I live up to my high standards.  They sometimes feel like ‘shoulds’ instead of personal choices.  Maybe I should refer to them as the 12 suggestions, and that would lessen my resistance?  I’m not sure… but it does feel good to write down a list of who I would BE if I were perfect and could change direction on a dime.

Do you have a To Be List?  Share it here to inspire others! :)

Entry filed under: Conscious Websites, FREE stuff :). Tags: .

BLISSfix loves Wordle.net I love me some tea-time widsom!!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. haley  |  February 18, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    i agree that “shoulds” aren’t high on my “like” list. but i love the idea of a To Be list. and i love your direction with your two lists.
    ….hmmmmm…. i’ll have to think about this and figure out what MY To Be list would look like and/or include….

    thanks for passing along such a great idea!

    Reply
  • 2. Jeff  |  February 18, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    Love this Heather. Thanks for spreading the light so powerfully.
    Jeff

    Reply
  • 3. To Be List – lessons continue «  |  February 21, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    [...] Last week I wrote about creating a To Be List and the challenges that come with it.  All of a sudden, I not only needed to do 5 million things, I also needed to BE 5 million things, as well.  Talk about an impossible challenge.  I needed a way to reign it in and this morning it appeared in my inbox.  Whether by coincidence or directly in response to my blog entry from last Friday, the Ongo Practice this morning was called To Be List. [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

