Truth is in the Pauses – Nov 5th, 2007

November 24, 2008 at 7:20 pm Leave a comment

The message of truth is in the pauses.

When you pose a question, whether to a friend, loved one, yourself or the universe… make sure to wait long enough to hear the FULL answer. Usually the first answer is only the tip of the iceberg.

Simply don’t respond, and wait, and the desire to fill the silence will draw out greater depth to the conversation. It’s a beautiful trick I learned from my mother-n-law while dating my husband. Cynthia is a psychotherapist and a master at pulling information out of people. She would inevitably wait so long to respond to my responses when we were first getting to know each other, that I would awkwardly blabber on and on until I stuck my foot in my mouth, uttering something totally inappropriate. Of course, she never minded, knowing exactly what she was doing.

Now I find this vitally useful when listening to my own intuition. When posing a question to myself and the Universe at large, it’s easy to whine my way through a myriad of questions and huff a sigh of frustration at the end… still feeling confused. However, with my new tool of prayer journaling, I write my questions one at a time and wait patiently until the answer arrives. I’ve been so satisfied with the speed of most results, that when it doesn’t come quickly, I’m not the least bit bothered by it. I simply know from experience, that the answer will come when I’m ready.

me journaling in our bedroom

me journaling in our bedroom

Entry filed under: From Gaia.com blog. Tags: , , , , , .

It’s all in the name… – Sep 21st, 2007 The Grace of God or The Grace of Flow – Jan 17th, 2008

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


