day 53 – Spontaneity (June 5, 2008)

November 25, 2008 at 4:12 am Leave a comment

day53Last night Rev. Michael spoke about allowing surprises into your day.  This morning I woke and asked myself what I’d like to feel at the end of the day.  Grateful, alive, and pleased seemed to be the feeling tone I was desiring.  Mom is visiting still and I have been wanting to entertain her as well as fulfill my duties to Agape, Sean’s businesses and my own personal development.  So I made a list of things I’d like to get done, keeping it to a reasonable five things.  I checked with her, letting her know I needed to leave the house for internet… and making sure she’d be able to entertain herself while I was productive.  She assured me that she would be fine and as I contemplated the day, I thought… is this really the day that I want?  I looked at my list again and realized that all but one thing could be accomplished next week, and that one thing could be set up and left running in the back seat of the car while I drove her to see the mountains she’d been curious about.  (enter tire-squalling, U-turn noise here)

So I re-routed, changed directions, saw the light, and embraced the day… and we quickly packed up and hopped in the car.  As we rode toward the Santa Monica Mountains and then passing them into Malibu, I didn’t know how far we should go or what we ‘d do on the return.  I decided to flow with it.  Eventually we pulled over to assess where we were and I noticed we weren’t far from my favorite city on the west coast, Santa Barbara.

“would you like to go?” I asked her.

“Peggy always said it was the prettiest place she’d ever been,” she responded.

And off we went.  We had nothing else to do. (such a great feeling)  So in less than an hour we were dining in a historic diner across from the ocean in Santa Barbara and enjoying the moments.  There beautiful terra cotta roofs dotted the valley and memories surfaced from my trip with sean last year.  The drive up and back were absolutely beautiful… mountains plunging into deep blue ocean, creative architecture clinging to their sides.  I loved witnessing all the surfers and para sailors harnessing their inner child.  I see them as having mastered a level of fearlessness I have yet to pursue.

For now, it is a great success to have let go of the To Do List and lived spontaneously.   I allowed my heart to lead me toward the most joyful expression of the day, and gave my brain a day off.  Perhaps I’ll try to talk the old noodle into taking the rest of the weekend off, too.

Entry filed under: BLISSfix Roadtrip 2008. Tags: , .

day 52 – Welcome to Agape (June 4, 2008) day 54 – The Luminaries (June 6, 2008)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


