BLISSfix Recommends the AudioBook “Healing Your Appetite, Healing Your Life” By Doreen Virtue

December 16, 2008 at 5:39 pm Leave a comment

Healing Your Appetite by Doreen Virtue

Healing Your Appetite by Doreen Virtue

I just recently listened to this audiobook for the third time.  The first two times I apparently wasn’t ready to hear what she had to say, but this last listen, she said everything I’d been thinking.

She touched on the causes of serotonin depletion and that it is a natural reaction to self medicate through carbohydrates and dairy to make up for the missing neurotransmitter.  Visions of grilled cheese sandwiches and macaroni and cheese from two weeks ago at the height of my stress danced through my head!

She suggests stress reduction, exercise, sunlight, and high quality sleep to increase the serotonin production.  These are all things I’ve heard of a million times, but I find hearing it in a new way is always helpful… to know that a chemical reaction is taking place in my brain and I have to make choices that support brain health in order to experience happiness in my life gives me more will to change.

She goes on to explain the 4 emotional causes of stress and serotonin depleation, and then ultimately weigh gain… Fear, Anger, Tension, and Shame or FATS.  As she goes through each of these, I learned ways to support myself through the expereince of any of these things by turning to Spirit/God instead of turning to food, alcohol, complaining or anything else that may place a bandaid on my problem, but not ultimately solve it.  I love that she sums it up with the affirmation of “I Forgive, Accept, Trust my Self,” which again spells the acronym FATS.

How perfect that the solution to the problem is within the problem itself?  It reminds me of how so many things I go through are for me to learn something… and I move through the experience as quickly as I am open to witness the lessons and learn them.

I highly recommend listening to this short, 1hr talk that will give you a deeper undestanding to why we react the way we do, and teach you practical ways to overcome it immediately.  ENJOY!

Entry filed under: Audiobooks. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

BLISSfix recommends playingforchange.com BLISSfix Recommends the song, Celebrate by Kool and the Gang

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


