BLISSfix loves “The Four Agreements” by Don Miguel Ruiz

July 13, 2009 at 5:21 pm 1 comment

5113EKMQHKL._SS500_Yesterday, as Sean and I took in some of the most beautiful scenery on highway 40 winding through Colorado, we listened to the Unabridged Audiobook of “The Four Agreements” by Don Miguel Ruiz, read by Peter Coyote.  As usual the words were exactly what I was wanting and needing to hear.  I had been entreating God/the Universe to help me recommit to all that I had learned and resonated with in the book “NonViolent Communication” by Marshal Rosenburg and here came this book completely in alignment with all the NVC teachings.  The book contains wisdom from biblical references as well as ancient Toltec (Native American) traditions.  Below I state the agreements I have made with myself based on the four in the book.

Agreement 1. Be Impeccable with My Word. I commit to speak with integrity, being careful to use my word only for the upliftment of myself and others through truth and love.

Agreement 2.  Be Immune to the Opinions and Actions of Others. (This one I have altered slightly from the version of the book because I choose to speak in positives) I acknowledge that the words and actions of others are from their perception of reality and have nothing to do with me as an individual.  I allow them their opinion and process and compassionately related to their human needs.  I powerfully select what I choose to believe for myself even when others are expressing beliefs I would prefer to release.  I am in control of what I choose to believe.

Agreement 3.  Ask Compassionate Questions and Compassionately Speak my Truth. (This one I have altered slightly from the version of the book because I choose to speak in positives) I honor my intuition and at the same time I seek total understanding of others needs through asking compassionate questions.  I honor myself by asking myself compassionate questions about my true feelings, needs and desires.  Once I am clear on my needs and wants, I confidently, consciously and compassionately express my truth and make requests to get my needs met.

Agreement 4.  I always do my Best! (This one I have altered slightly from the version of the book because I wanted to claim it for myself) My best is different in any given moment… for instance, my best when I’m just coming off a spiritual retreat compared to my best after a long day of challenging work will be different.  I accept myself at all times and at all stages and simply commit to doing my best at any given moment.  If I catch myself ‘shaming’ myself for not being better, I will stop, and simply remind myself that under the circumstances, that was my best, and in this consciousness, I have the ability to change now and start anew.  I embrace myself reminding myself that it is ok to make mistakes and it is joyful to consciously overcome them.

I’m so grateful for having found this book.  I bought it many years ago and accidentally listened to a brief excerpt while working out the other morning.  I knew immediately that it resonated now more than ever before and the timing of rediscovering it was perfect.   Enjoy the following links and a video that contains images similar to the ones we witnessed yesterday while driving and words from the book.

Sites related to The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz:
http://www.miguelruiz.com/
http://www.toltecspirit.com/

Entry filed under: Audiobooks, Conscious Books, Conscious Videos, Conscious Websites. Tags: , , .

BLISSfix loves Butterfly Gardens! BLISSfix LOVES the Oregon Country Fair

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rebekah  |  July 13, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Whoa. Loved it. And the music. I must check out Lorena McKeenit now. And I agree with your alterations — I found myself responding better to the positive statements.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


