BLISSfix rediscovers the joys of Caffeine

October 7, 2009 at 3:01 am 2 comments

BLISSfix Journal Entry – In college I had been known to drink 3 20 oz. Mt. Dews a day and not blink an eye… but as I became more health conscious and a professor let me in on the secret that it only takes 3 days to ween oneself from caffeine I began experimenting with life without it.  Life without caffeine was nice… I could tell that it was easier on my kidneys and all the sugar intake from all those Mt. dew’s certainly wasn’t missed.  I slept well and woke up less groggy.  So I was a pretty big fan of this anti-caffeine movement.  Especially knowing that one day I’d be wanting to get pregnant and caffeine is a big pregnancy no-no.

Well, with the pregnancy plans on hold and after having a few weeks of constant blah… some due to a cold and some due to the challenging curriculum of asking the question “Why are we here?” and listening to several different view points… I discovered that caffeine can be a real ‘pick-me-up!’  The other day I had a sweet tea on my drive home to ensure I didn’t fall asleep behind the wheel and to my surprise, not only did I not run of the road, but I felt motivated and energized for the first time in weeks.  You would have thought I had popped a Prozac.  I came home, exercised (for the first time in 3 months), finished a major creative project that had been lingering for months, cleaned and went to bed with a smile on my face.  The next day, not so good… worked grumpily and moped.  Mind you, my life is pretty sweet right now and I have a million and one reasons to be grateful… yet somehow my body chemistry and mental pattern is creating a different mood altogether.

“To hell with that,”  I say!

So the decision is in… just for now, until the natural mojo of being myself returns, I will gladly receive the aid of caffeine through unsweetened hot tea to lift my mood and help me productively move through my day.   I expect its just a habit of lack of exercise and circle of thought that has placed me in my slump and it seems this ‘blissfix’ might be just the ticket to get me out of the ditch and on the road again… to where I will no longer need the caffeine, but enjoy the natural high of good sleep, good exercise, good food, good communication and laughter, and a job well done.

Thank you, Caffeine for the leg up!

Entry filed under: BLISSfix Journal.

BLISSfix recommends Heartbeat:Internet Radio with a Pulse BLISSfix LOVES GOOP!!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chencenter  |  October 7, 2009 at 5:20 am

    Heather,
    Wonderful post! I posted something a long time ago on my blog in my attempt to “Give her (Mt. Dew) up”. http://chencenter.wordpress.com/2008/02/20/sweetheart-were-spending-far-too-much-time-together-my-love-hate-relationship-with-mountain-dew/

    But I came to about the same conclusion a just recently. Most of the things that are bad for you, may just come out as being good for you later. Mt. Dew only has between 4-6 grams of sugar more than Dr. Pepper or Pepsi. And orange or grape soda tops the list at about 52 or 53grams per container (4 or so more than the Dew). Caffeine isn’t “bad” for you and in a recent case-study, caffeine itself is supposed to be good for your liver and kidneys.. it’s just the refined sugar that’s bad. But then again, why give up the sweet taste of Mt. Dew or Sweet tea if it, above other things, helps you to become energized and motivated, happy on the outside… and happy on the insides!!! That’s my take! -MJ

    Reply
  • 2. Tess  |  October 7, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Great post! It would be great if we didn’t need artificial stimulants, but our society also contains a lot of artificial stress factors. We live in an environment where most of us simply can’t get all the sleep we need, or fulfill all of of our work, family, and social demands in the time we have available. Caffeine is one of the better interim solutions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


